Member Profile

Imperial County Transportation Commission (ICTC)

Imperial County Transportation Commission (ICTC)
Agency Type

The authority of the Imperial County Transportation Commission (ICTC) is defined by the Public Utilities Code (See Sections 132820, 132824).  As one of the six county transportation commissions within the metropolitan region of the Southern California Association of Governments, ICTC guides the development of the Regional Transportation Plan for the Imperial region and its Regional, State and Federal transportation improvement programs (TIPs) and their updates, including the distribution of Local Transportation Fund monies; the preparation and submittal of applications for transportation related funds; allocation for Transportation Development Act funds; the planning, programming and administration of regional transit services; and encouragement of active citizen participation.

ICTC is specifically authorized to use up to 3 percent of the revenues in the local transportation fund for the purpose of carrying out its planning and programming responsibilities, prepare a short-range transportation plan that includes the development and approval of a three- to five-year transportation improvement program and administer the funds deposited in the local transportation fund according to the terms and conditions of the Transportation Development Act.

Population Represented
Program Highlights
  • IVT MedTrans–IVT MedTrans provides non-emergency transportation from Imperial Valley to San Diego County medical facilities, clinics, and doctor offices for transit-dependent residents who require essential medical services.  Transportation must be arranged 48 hours in advance and dispatch services are offered in both English and Spanish.  The service operates 4 days a week and provides approximately 500 trips a month.
  • Pedestrian and Bicycle Transportation Access Study of the California/Baja California Land Ports of Entry–The California/Baja California border spans 150 miles and has 6 land ports of entry.  An estimated 35 million pedestrian crossed the border in 2013.  In 2015, ICTC led a study of bicycle and pedestrian transportation access at the border.  The study outlines how to improve the travel experience and guarantee that bicyclists and pedestrians are safe and comfortable at the points of entry.  Infrastructure improvements along the border not only promotes active transportation, but they ease traffic congestion and border delays, which contribute to poor air quality and greenhouse gas emissions.  The study identifies 102 projects that ensure efficient and environmentally sustainable options for bicyclists and pedestrians crossing the border.
Related Stories
Board Makeup

Under Section 132801 of the Public Utilities Code, the ICTC Board is composed of ten voting members and one non-voting member.  The voting members include two members of the Imperial County Board of Supervisors and one mayor or council member from each of the seven incorporated cities within Imperial County, and one member of the Board of Directors of the Imperial Irrigation District.  The non-voting member is appointed by the Governor to represent the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans).  The statute also authorizes the commission to include ad ex-officio or non-voting members representing the State of Baja California (Mexico), the municipality of Mexicali (Mexico), the Consul of Mexico in Calexico (California), and the federally recognized Native American tribes in Imperial County.

The current members of the Board are posted on the ICTC website.

Executive Director
David Aguirre
CALCOG Board Representative
Mike Goodsell, Council Member, City of Holtville
Web Link
CALCOG Logomark


Subscribe to our newsletter