Member Profile

Santa Cruz County Regional Transportation Commission (SCCRTC)

Santa Cruz County Regional Transportation Commission (SCCRTC)
Agency Type

The Santa Cruz County Regional Transportation Commission (SCCRTC) is the Regional Transportation Planning Agency (RTPA) for Santa Cruz County.  Created by the State of California in 1972 to carry out transportation responsibilities that cross city-county boundaries in Santa Cruz County, SCCRTC:

  • Sets priorities for major improvements to the transportation infrastructure and network of services, including highways, major roads, bus transit, paratransit, rail and alternative transportation facilities;
  • Pursues and allocates funding for all elements of the transportation system;
  • Adopts policies to improve mobility, access and air quality;
  • Plans for future projects and programs to improve the regional transportation system while improving the region’s quality of life;
  • Informs businesses and the public about the need to better manage the existing transportation system; and
  • Conducts programs to encourage the use of alternative transportation modes.

SCCRTC is a member of the Central Coast Coalition.

Population Represented
Program Highlights
  • Measure D–Santa Cruz County residents recently passed Measure D, the ½ cent local sales tax which will fund projects and improvements over the next 30 years.  The measure is projected to generate $17 million a year and projects include road improvements, bicycle and pedestrian projects, safe routes to school projects, increased transit and paratransit services, and construction and maintenance of the Coastal Rail Trail.  These projects will ease congestion and result in reduced greenhouse gas emissions.
  • Monterey Bay Sanctuary Scenic Trail Network/Rail Trail–The MBSST is a 50 mile bicycle and pedestrian pathway along Santa Cruz County that runs adjacent to train tracks, coexisting with existing and potential future train service.  The pathway provides a non-motorized coastal path for walkers, joggers, cyclists, people with mobility impairments, locals, and visitors and the adjacent rail provides access to 44 schools and 92 parks.  The final master plan was adopted in 2013 and recognized as an Outstanding Planning Document by the American Planning Association, the Association of Environmental Professionals, American Trails, and the California State Parks’ Trails and Greenways Program.
Related Stories
Board Makeup

The Board of Directors is comprised of 4 mayors or council members representing each of the cities in Santa Cruz County, 5 members representing the County Board of Supervisors, 3 members appointed by the Santa Cruz Metropolitan Transit District, and 1 ex-officio member representing Caltrans District 5.

Executive Director
Guy Preston
CALCOG Board Representative
Zach Friend, Supervisor, Santa Cruz County
Web Link
CALCOG Logomark


Subscribe to our newsletter